A special gift: Apple Pie

by Camilla - foodaroundblog

Apple Pie

There is something surprising in the kindness of the English people. So far I have had the fortune to meet good souls with a friendly and sincere attitude of welcome. I do not think that these have been fortuitous occasions. I realize , in the small things, that good manners and civil friendliness towards the human race , are part of the DNA of these people, erroneously labeled as cold, by alleged “calientes” inhabitants of the Mediterranean. Nothing could be more wrong.

And that “something” surprising has shown, yesterday, in the form of a fabulous, freshly baked Apple Pie that my neighbor brought me as a gift. She knocked on my door, handed me the warm bundle and, leaving me just enough time to thank, rejoined in his backyard .

These things do not make you feel at home, because in Italy, a thing like this had not ever happened to me. These things make you feel part of a world for which , perhaps, there is still hope.

However .. the Apple Pie has been devoured, I was able just to immortalize it.

The next day, going to restore the luster dish, equipped with a pen and paper, I have tried to steal the recipe.

The apple pie has Anglo-Saxon origins, and the traditional recipe calls for the use of the Bramley apple.

Here are the steps that my neighbor has kindly forwarded:

For an Apple Pie with a diameter of about 20/25 cm :

For the shortcrust pastry:

300 grams of self-rising flour

150 grams of butter or margarine

a pinch of salt

cold water

For the filling:

3 large apples chopped and stewed with sugar to taste

Preheat the oven to 200C.  While chopped apples stew, work the flour with the butter, ’til mixture is finely crumbling . Add cold water gradually and knead until the dough will not be compact and suitable for rolling . Divide the pastry into two halves. Take one part and roll it on a plate, trimming the excess edges. Cover the pastry with the stewed apples. Roll out the other half of the pastry. Remember to moisten the edge of the bottom layer of pastry, this help the second pastry disc to stick on top. Press down on the pastry edges, cut off any excess pastry. Prick the surface of the pastry lightly before placing the pie in the oven. Cook for 20-30 minutes. When the pie is cooked, releasing a delicious scent, dust with caster sugar and…enjoy it!

