Purple Soup

by Camilla - foodaroundblog

Purple Soup

Purple rain, purple rain .. I seem to hear Prince’s voice singing in the background while I prepare this winter soup.
Purple soup… with red cabbage, potatoes, leeks, carrots and little else. Because not many more ingredients left in my fridge.
The red cabbage has been cultivated in England since the Middle Ages and I noticed how the main recipes propose combining it with apple stew: I will soon go through!
There was this RED CABBAGE watching me puzzled by the drawer of the fridge for a few days now and I thought I’d make a good, warm, color spectacular and velvety soup.
I have not been to check the doses, I trust in the good sense of the reader to adapt the ingredients and doses according to the diners. If you need to run a milligrams recipe, well .. this is not the blog for you.

So, after having fried finely chopped leeks with olive oil, I added a peeled and cut into chunks large carrot, 2 potatoes, and about 700 gr of sliced ​​red cabbage, seasoned to taste, added ginger powder and I then poured about a liter of water (or vegetable broth) and left to simmer for about 30 minutes. Once all the vegetables were very tender, I  blended with  the mixer until smooth and I eventually adjusted the seasoning.
To create a contrast of color, textures and flavor, I thought I’d serve it with a handful of roasted and salted pistachios.

