Canestrelli

by Camilla - foodaroundblog

CanestrelliLast summer I was in Camogli, a beautiful village in Liguria with two of my dearest italian friends. A romantic getaway made ​​of sun, sea, dense girly chattering, memories, confessions, gossip, wine, fresh fish, walking and swimming. A wonderful weekend. A fantastic photography in my mind with the intense feeling, kept in my memory, that time, on that beach, seemed to stand still.

Among the shops, during our wandering, I found a well-stocked bookstore where I bought a local recipes’ book illustrated by Emenuele Luzzati, a famous and talented designer from Genoa. From this book, I took the recipe for Canestrelli, ancient and traditional Ligurian cookies with a typical flower shape. I dedicate this post to my best friends, hoping having you here in Uk  as soon as possible.

Canestrelli

Ingredients
500g flour
300g butter
150 g sugar
2 egg yolks
grated lemon rind
egg white
icing sugar
Mix together the butter, the sugar and the grated lemon rind and then add the egg yolks with flour. Knead mixture into a thick and hard. Let it rest at fresh temperature for half an hour. Place the dough back on the floured kneading trough and, using a rolling pin, cut one cm thick. Cut out flower shaped into rings of seven-eight inches diameter, from Whose core one-two cm large small ring will be removed. The remaining dough can be used to make other biscuits. When they are ready, brush the surface of the scallops with egg white. Bake at 180 ° C until they get golden brown. Let it cook and then sprinkle with icing sugar. Excellent with dessert wine as Passito or Moscato.

 
