Broccoli and Blue cheese soup

by Camilla - foodaroundblog

Blue cheese: Cashel Blue

Last Saturday I went to the covered market in Oxford (you can see my photo gallery here). For those who are passionate about (and I’m the first) there is a sumptuous cheese counter inside. I was completely focused on doing my photos when a teutonic and picturesque lady has kindly asked which cheese I’d liked to buy. Taken aback and facing the embarrassment of choice (a selection of more than 50 types of cheese) my gaze fell on a slice of Cashel, an Irish blue cheese with from chalky-texture to soft-yellow-pasta (depending on the age) and a characteristic bluish green mold. The rennet used also makes it suitable for vegetarians.

Fighting the urge to sink a knife into the cheese’s slice and sacrifice it on an altar of warm and crisp bread, I thought I’d try a soup which is very popular here in the UK: broccoli and blue cheese soup.
To be honest, the original recipe calls for Stilton, another blue cheese, strictly British, and purists might shudder in the replacement of an English cheese with an Irish(!!)one. Whoever follows me from Italy, moreover, may well experience the variant with the gorgonzola.

Broccoli and Blue Cheese Soup
Broccoli and Blue cheese soup

Ingredients
1 leek or onion, peeled and chopped3 sticks of celery, roughly chopped
3 tablespoons of oil e.v.o.
1 large potato, peeled and chopped
1 liter of water (or broth)
300g broccoli, roughly chopped
100g of blue cheese (Cashel Blue for me)
black pepper and salt to taste
Warm crusty bread to serve

Cook the onion and celery in 3 tablespoons olive oil in a large pan then add the potato and water (or broth) and simmer until it is tender. Add the broccoli and cook for 3-4 minutes until just tender but still bright green. Add half the cheese with the seasoning and and whiz to a smooth soup in a blender.
Crumble the remaining cheese over the top, sprinkle with black pepper and serve with warm crusty bread.

Broccoli and blue cheese soup

OldDesignShop_CutlerySet

